Skip to content

A Few of My Favorite Things

imageThere is nothing more magical than falling in love at the holidays. I remember the exact moment I knew I was love with my husband. We had known each other for over a year, but had been dating for about 6 or 7 weeks. We were at his apartment exchanging gifts before he made the trek back to Pittsburgh and he was making cookies for his holiday party at work the next day. I fell asleep early so he continued making the cookies – his mom’s recipe – by candlelight well into the night. That scene – and his gesture of working by candlelight while I slept – has never left me.

During that gift exchange, he called me his girlfriend for the first time and gave me a few of my favorite things. He consulted our mutual friend, the one who told me I should call Ryan earlier that fall, for some ideas. He must have followed that list to a tee. I, on the other hand, had less success. With the exception of a copy of “To Kill a Mockingbird”, I stumbled my way through the whole thing with odd purchases like a striped dress shirt from the Gap. A.) My husband doesn’t wear stripes or patterns of any kind. Ever. B.) He hates the Gap.

You see, the thing is, gifts are not his language of love, so there is really no need to impress him on that front; although I still try! While I crave a little sliver of each of the Five Love Languages, receiving gifts might just be my favorite. But I like to give as well receive.

Finding the perfect gift for someone special isn’t always easy. These are some of my favorite holiday finds this year.

As for my better half, our gift to each other this Christmas is a weekend in NYC – the site of our first trip together eight years ago this month. I hope we find a little of that old holiday magic again. 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. GGMom/MIL/Gail #

    Dear DIL, I love you more with every blog entry I read! They are insightful & so uplifting. XO

    December 5, 2013
  2. Monica DiNatale #

    If you have a foodie on your shopping list check out the book “365 Guide.” Nothing but restaurant and bar deals. Enjoy! http://www.365guidenyc.com

    December 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

