Skip to content

It’s the Little Things…

styer2

One of my favorite things about Wednesday is the New York Times Dining section. Today’s feature was near and dear to my heart: a guide to the year’s most important meal, with their best recipes, techniques and tricks. It’s all presented in an easy, straightforward way. And since I’m cooking Thanksgiving this year, I need this. Simplicity and organization is critical to my survival over this holiday with two kitchens (and not in the good way – a kitchen inefficiently split into two awkward rooms) and anywhere from 2-3 cooks in the kitchen(s). Luckily, I do not need to make everything since we all contribute to this meal. But I’m in charge of turkey, stuffing, potatoes, and roasted veggies. To date, I’ve read about 257 stuffing recipes since I’m kind of obsessed with stuffing and always to try to get a little creative there. Mushrooms, sausage, pancetta, sage, cranberries. The combinations are endless. As for the centerpiece of the meal, I figured there is only so much I can do to ruin a turkey. Faithful readers (like my mom) may recall that I did cook my first turkey UPSIDE DOWN.

A few other items trending in my world this week…

  • This still happens? Oprah’s Favorite Things 2013 Edition. It was fun when you could watch the audience scream their heads off and get buckets of free stuff. Now, it’s just a bunch of luxury items that none of us can afford – even with the “Oprah” discount.
  • Three years ago, on my “second  birthday” – a cute invention by my husband to acknowledge me on another day since our anniversary is the day before my birthday – I received an amazing, fancy camera. In fact, it is so nice that I’m afraid of it and don’t use it nearly as much as I should. No more excuses. I’m going to follow these Top Ten Ways to Become a Better Photographer next time I take it out for a spin.
  • Coffee is everything. If you master no other skill in life, learn How to Make a Perfect Cup of Coffee. My passion for coffee began with Mocha Java at the old Delancey Street in Bala Cynwyd. During my PR tenure with Starbucks, I even worked as a barista for one very long day. Now, I focus on brewing or finding La Colombe, the finest purveyor of coffee in Philadelphia. In fact, just yesterday my husband surprised me with a bag of the new Fishtown Blend.
  • I’m a product junkie, but I simplify can’t justify what most of these products cost (unless you know of a really good under eye cream – I’ll spare no expense!). In my search for some homemade options, I stumbled upon this great blog, Little House Living. While homesteading isn’t my thing, this site shares great money-saving ideas that we can all benefit from – especially around the holidays. I’m going to try this Peppermint Foot Scrub, which would probably cost about $25+ at the store.
3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Michelle #

    The Oprah favorite things comment made me laugh 🙂 I’m obsessed w/ roasted veggies…. Just as an FYI~any veggie roasted and drizzled w/ maple syrup is A-Mazing 🙂 Good Luck w/ your Thanksgiving. XO

    November 13, 2013
  2. eleanor #

    Mom-mom Rowe used to make an oyster stuffing as well as a traditional stuffing( ’cause the kids would not eat the oyster stuffing)…I never got her recipe and am sorry ’bout that.

    November 13, 2013
  3. Fran LaSpada #

    Upside down turkey is a rookie mistake so don’t worry about it. You know the old saying ” No harm, no FOWL”. I believe anything cooked with love is delicious!!! By the way Uncle Bill makes some killer roasted veggies. Yum!!

    November 14, 2013

Leave a Reply

