Skip to content

Going Gluten Free

Let me just say here first: I love bread. I love pasta. I love cake. But sadly it may not love me back. So for many reasons I’ve decided to try a gluten free diet for two months to see if I may have a gluten intolerance. I’ve also spoken to a nutritionist and my doctor about this so I am not doing this on a whim or weight loss attempt (although that wouldn’t be a bad side effect). If I see signficiant benefits to some health issues, I may be gluten free forever. In that case, I have a lot of work to do.

I’ve survived one week of gluten free and it was actually pretty easy since we eat at home a lot. The hardest part was my nephew’s fifth birthday party — no birthday cake for me! Controlling what we eat at home is not difficult. I already cook quite a bit with brown rice, quinoa, millet, veggies, fish and meat. However, eating out is going to be the real challenge. Did you know that there is gluten in soy sauce? Neither did I. On the flip side, I didn’t realize that rice is gluten free. Thank god.

So if you are in the same boat as me and are looking to explore gluten free living, here are the resources I am using to get up to speed. In the meantime, I will share some recipes on gluten free baking (and we know I’m not much of a baker) once I take that leap. That will be, by far, the most challenging part for me. If you don’t want to go without bread or a little treat forever and don’t want to spend money on store bought gluten free products, you need to make them yourself!

For the most part, I’m still cooking like I normally do. I’m just more mindful of what I eat outside the house.  And for the record my mother is full supportive of this experiment but I’m quite sure I won’t be able to eat at her house for the next couple of months!

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. eleanor c.bisick #

    I wish you the best of luck, and hope it works for you…I have a friend who also is going gluten free and her kids too…I may send you some of her recipes if you would like….

    July 28, 2012
    • cherala34 #

      Sure that would be great. Thank you!

      July 28, 2012
  2. Gail #

    I’m thinking gluten could be the culprit in my digestive issues. I’ll be following your blog to help get me started on the same trial “course”

    August 30, 2012
    • cherala34 #

      Gail, at home I find it very easy because I can control how things are made. But eating out is hard since wheat and white flour seem to be in everything except salad (even the dressings!). I guess I feel better but im told the real trick is seeing how you feel after eating after a two month gluten free diet. I have another few weeks to go!

      August 30, 2012

Leave a Reply

