Skip to content

The Quick Thinking Cook

I’m not a great cook, but what I lack in skill I make up for in resourcefulness. I don’t have the patience for a souffle, I scoff at recipes with more than six steps and I avoid baking whenever possible, but I can make a little something out of a lot of nothing as my husband can attest to night after night.

Until I met the roast chicken. I’ll be honest. It wasn’t love at first site. I had avoided  him for years – my oven was too small, it was too much of a commitment, I had a headache….I just wasn’t into it. Turns out I didn’t know what I was missing.

First off, roasting the chicken was much easier than I thought it would be – especially after the upside down turkey incident on Thanksgiving. Day one of the chicken was thorougly enjoyed by two hungry tree decorators. But day two left me with a dilemna – what to do with the chicken next? I’m someone who normally does not like leftovers. I like variety. And unlike most people, I despise chicken noodle soup so that was out. But minutes before my husband came home from work I found some inspiration with a can of crescent rolls from Thanksgiving. Chicken Pot Pie! So I sliced some mushrooms, grabbed some frozen peas, and went to work on my pot pie. A little flour and milk, some thyme, salt and pepper and we were cooking. I threw the crescent roll dough on top and in the oven it went. The result was better than I anticipated – my husband told me it was one of his favorite dishes so far. So I will take that as a success. Next up? Chicken salad with toasted walnuts and apples.

Why have I never made a roast chicken before?? See what happens when you give a guy a chance…

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Fran LaSpada #

    Thanks so much for this edition of NMMK – It put a smile on my face and inspired me to branch out and try some different things.

    December 7, 2011

Leave a Reply

