Skip to content

Surviving Thanksgiving

Well, I truly thought the hardest part of Thanksgiving would be cooking my turkey. Turns out, that was easy. Dealing with an exploding toilet at 11 p.m. with only one bathroom and ten people in the house, a near-criminal 24-hour plumbing bill, and fighting with my husband in front of his family all proved to be much more difficult than any cooking challenge. Yes, I turned into my mother, but I suspect I was much worse than my mother as I also had some personal stuff going on as well. All in all it made for a rough holiday for me and one that I wish I could redo.

But back to the food. The hardest part of preparing dinner was trying to keep the food warm for everyone (particularly when your husband spends the entire visit playing video games in the basement until you have to pull him aside to plead for help)! But luckily my in-laws are very gracious and easy to please when it comes to entertaining. Some of my favorites including some things I did not make like Strawberry Pretzel Salad and cole slaw from my mother in law. As for my dishes, I think the string bean casserole, stuffing and mashed potatoes all turned out quite well.

The good news is that I finally had the confidence to buy my first full chicken for a lovely roasted chicken dinner that I plan on making sometime this week (will blog about that later)…Once you’ve cooked a turkey, a small chicken seems rather easy. Or we shall see…

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fran LaSpada #

    AT long last!! I finally feel vindicated. It’s not the cooking it’s trying to keep 8 side dishes hot and served all at the same time. Not an easy thing to do. If the leftovers were any indication of the Thanksgiving Day dinner than you scored a 10. Great food and great company and everyone had fun (except the cook, as usual)

    Love you!

    Mom (Not My Mother’s Kitchen Mom)

    November 28, 2011
    • Tina #

      Cheri-You’re always hardest on yourself! To me the hardest part is the clean-up,I’d rather throw everything away(and probably have)–And,I think I read this on one of your blogs,but,preparing for a big dinner like this is like preparing for a marathon-it’s a bitch getting through it,but when it’s over,you feel great! Then,each one gets easier!

      November 28, 2011
  2. Danielle #

    This is why alcohol consumption is such an important part of the holiday season! Sigh….didn’t you learn ANYTHING at the Long house?????

    November 28, 2011
  3. Gail (M.I.L.) Herlinger #

    Well having attended and hosted MANY holiday dinners in my short 🙂 life, I will tell you – this Thanksgiving dinner just may have been the calmest, best organized, best prepped for, and smoothest operation of any holiday dinner to date! Not only that, but I don’t think I have ever seen as many dishes, “including but not exclusive to”: cheesy corn & pumpkin pies (somehow wedged into a vehicle with 6 people for a 14 hour trip from Augusta), green bean casserole (far superior to the conventional green bean casserole with fried onions on top), brussels sprouts (yum!), glazed carrots, carmel apple tart, 42 flavors of ice cream 🙂 all in addition to other dishes already mentioned – many of which were prepared ahead. It was a fabulous FEAST!! And, getting it all together, on the table while still hot was accomplished in part because “someone” kept four hungry munchkins busy and out from under our feet! So give yourself a pat on the back for being the ‘executive producer’ of a great Thanksiving meal (plus another well organized & prepared meal of leftovers for Black Friday (when guest count increased from 10 to 17!!!!).

    November 29, 2011
    • cherala34 #

      Thank you MIL! I must say that I FINALLY got to some of that “Southern” pumpkin pie and it was delicious!!!

      November 29, 2011
  4. Wow! Loved reading this! I think that back in the old days, the old wood stoves had a warming shelf just above the cooking surface and where the flue went up through. Finished dishes were put in there to stay warm. A lovely invention! I wonder why they did away with that? Anyway, it appears that everyone had a wonderful time and I am just sorry that we all weren’t there to help celebrate.

    ps next year, rent a portable john and make the guests use that, lol!

    November 30, 2011

Leave a Reply

