Skip to content

Happy Second Birthday to Not My Mother’s Kitchen!

This week marks the second birthday of  “Not My Mother’s Kitchen.” I wish I had more to report on from my exciting kitchen but things have been very quiet here. The hot, lazy days of August have left me with little inspiration in the kitchen with the exception of ice cream, which is what summer is all about. So I decided that if I could celebrate this milestone in any way, I would transport myself to NYC for “The Salty Pimp.”

I was watching “Best Thing I Ever Ate” on the Food Network this week and Gail Simmons, one of the Top Chef judges, shared her favorite – “The Salty Pimp” – a salty and sweet ice cream creation from The Big Gay Ice Cream Truck in NYC. It’s vanilla ice cream topped with dulce de leche, chocolate and sea salt. But the dulce de leche is poured into the bottom of the cone first, then fused throughout the ice cream, dipped in salt and then a hard chocolate coating with a spicy kick. Sign. Me. Up.

The truck has a bunch of unique offerings including the Affogayto Mexicano (vanilla soft serve topped with whipped cream and hot chocolate made of Scharffen Berger cocoa powder and cayenne pepper) and the Gobbler (vanilla soft serve topped with crushed graham crackers, pumpkin butter, and whipped cream). I die.

Unfortunately, it’s just too hot to go to NYC right now. I’ll probably have to settle for the Rita’s that is 20 feet from my apartment.

Happy end of summer. Thanks for reading. I promise to kick-start things on here come September!!

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Warren #

    Excuses Excuses…it’s not hot at all today! Come and visit NYC scrubs!

    August 19, 2011

Leave a Reply

