Skip to content

A Simple Salad Dressing

Homemade salad dressing never crossed the threshold of my mother’s kitchen. It was all about Seven Seas bottled Italian Dressing over iceberg lettuce. In fact, homemade salad dressing remains a foreign concept in my mother’s kitchen; however, she has introduced some new brands and flavors into the mix.

I love to make my own salad dressing. It is more flavorful and certainly less expensive and I like that each time I mix my own batch of olive oil, vinegar, and whatever else I have in stock – I’m getting a unique twist. It is a different experiment each time. But I think I finally found THE ONE.

Parc makes a simple, elegant salad with the best dressing. I rarely enjoy a salad with just lettuce, but with the right dressing it is a perfect complement to a variety of dishes or even just a hearty soup or a nice baguette. Parc creates such a dressing. I asked my friend Liz – the best cook I know – what is the secret? It is the tarragon she said. Truth be told, I’ve never even used tarragon before. As it turns out, it is the Tarragon and I finally found a keeper in this homemade Tarragon salad dressing. For me, the trick to dressing is mixing all of the ingredients in a jar. Just shake and pour. Also, I added some Cipollini onions to the dressing below for a little extra kick. Beats Seven Seas any day….

Tarragon Salad Dressing

Ingredients

Directions

Place fresh chopped tarragon, minced garlic, honey, mustard(s), mayonnaise, salt & pepper in a jar. Shake it well. Add vinegar. Shake again.  Add olive oil. And shake again.

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Just wanted to thank you for the delicious pumpkin cake that Ryan brought into work (he told me about your blog)! It was so nice to have someone else bring in the treats…it’s not as fun to eat your own! Love your blog!

    Consumed: My Culinary Adventure

    October 27, 2010
    • cherala34 #

      Thank you Danielle. I am enjoying your blog as well. I’m going to have to try those PB krispie treats. Like the new name too!!

      October 27, 2010
  2. Gina #

    I’m back again to steal this recipe!!! Yum. I love it more than words can say. So excited to make it tonight.

    November 15, 2011
    • cherala34 #

      Oh good!! Hope you are well!! Are you still blogging?

      November 15, 2011

Leave a Reply

