Skip to content

Happy Birthday!

Happy Belated Birthday to Not My Mother’s Kitchen! I had intended a whole post around this milestone particularly since I rarely finish anything I start. I even recognized the occassion by picking peaches at Linvilla Orchards with my niece and planned to make a cobbler; however, between work and a visit from the in-laws the peaches ended up rotting in my kitchen. 

I spent the last two weeks just waiting out summer and preparing for my favorite season – fall. While we aren’t quite there yet in terms of temperature, I’m celebrating anyway. It’s been a while since I cooked a proper dinner so I had a lot to make up for in the kitchen. I decided to get back in the swing of things with a nice fall meal based on two things – apples and peaches – since both were plentiful at the farmer’s market this weekend.

I wanted to use the apples in a savory dish so I decided on an apples, chicken sausage and cabbage dish. You can make this with regular chicken sausage, which I’ve been trying out here and there now that I’m eating meat again. Since the hubby is still off of meat, I substituted the chicken with my favorite vegetarian sausage from Field Roast – Smoked Apple Sage. The flavors were a perfect complement to the dish. I topped it off with a simple peach dessert – roasted peaches. You can eat them on their own or serve with ricotta cheese, greek yogurt, whipped cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

And we’ve got another birthday in the house – my husband will be 40 on Thursday!! We enjoyed this pre-fall meal by breaking open one of his early  birthday presents from me  – the first season of Thirtysomething. Ah, the irony. Mid-way through the first episode we both expressed how much older Michael, Hope, Elliot and Nancy still felt to us even though we are surely older than they were suppossed to be. I suppose you are as old as you feel…

CHICKEN SAUSAGE, APPLE AND CABBAGE SAUTE (Adapted from Dallas Times/Desperation Dinners Column)

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp oil
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • 4 links smoked chicken sausage or Smoked Apple Sage “sausage” from Field Roast
  • 2 granny smith apples, sliced
  • 1 ½ pounds of green cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tb butter
  • 2 tb honey
  • ¼ tsp black pepper
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2 apple cider vinegar

Directions

In a 12-inch, extra-deep skillet with a lid, heat the oil over medium heat.

Peel the onion, and cut it into thin ( 1/8 -inch thick) slices, adding to the skillet as you cut. Stir and cook onion while cutting each sausage link into ½ -inch pieces. Set the sausage pieces aside.

Core but do not peel the apples. Chop the apples into bite-size pieces. Add all of the apples and sausage slices to the skillet. Stir well.

Continue to cook over medium heat. Meanwhile, thinly slice the cabbage (no larger than ¼ -inch-wide pieces for quick cooking), and add it to the skillet.

Add water, butter and honey, and stir to mix well. Bring the liquid to a boil, cover the skillet, and steam for 5 to 6 minutes.

Uncover, stir, and toss well. Re-cover, and steam until the cabbage is crisp-tender, about 5 to 6 minutes more.

Uncover the skillet and sprinkle pepper and vinegar over the cabbage mixture. Toss to mix. Taste, and add more vinegar, if desired. Serve at once.

Roasted Peaches (Eating Well Magazine)

 Ingredients

  • 4 ripe peaches, (about 1 1/4 pounds)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 425°F. Cut peaches in half and remove pits. Toss the peach halves with lemon juice in a large bowl; add sugar and toss once again. Arrange halves cut-side up in a baking dish. Roast until the peaches are tender, 20 to 25 minutes. If the juices in the pan begin to burn, add a little water and cover the pan loosely with foil.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. ecbisick #

    hi cheri! thought the recipe would be really good with regular sausage, the way we country folk eat….

    good to see you blogging again. some day you must tell me how it is done..some day i would like to do an Aunt ellies country garden type blog.

    miss you guys..hope to see you all one of these days!
    the sooner the better, but in the meanwhile, lov Ya!

    September 13, 2010
    • cherala34 #

      Thanks Aunt E. You should absolutely do your blog. It would be great. Yes I agree that regular sausage would also work well with this!

      September 16, 2010
  2. Fran LaSpada #

    Happy 1st Birthday to NMMK and a special thank you to it’s beautiful, creative and funny creator. Love you very much and you always make me very proud to be your mother.

    Love this recipe and I would loved to find a store out here in the “Burbs” that sold the FIeld Roast brand. I did really enjoy it at your house the last time I was in the “City”.

    I’m planning on making Ryan’s favorite cake for his big “40”.

    September 14, 2010
    • cherala34 #

      Well you’ll have to plan a trip up to the big city in October and we will get you some! Thanks for being the one and only inspiration for the blog!

      September 16, 2010
  3. Madelene #

    I love you girls!!!!! 🙂

    October 7, 2010

Leave a Reply

