Skip to content

Simple Summer Stew

At the risk of sounding like my grandmother, I’m trying to get some more fiber into my diet. I’m also trying to cook as simply as possible this summer since I’ve grown tired of my tiny kitchen, which is probably the size of most of your bathrooms. My fantasies don’t involve exotic travel or lavish jewels, but rather a large, rustic, sunny kitchen with lots of windows, counter space, and a breakfast bar.

To me, simple cooking usually means a one pot dish and I make a lot of those. Since beans are a great source of fiber and I had them in the stock, I chose those for my protein. I love beans and they give me a lot of options when cooking vegetarian.  While I’m back on the meat wagon from time to time, my husband is not so dinners have been a bit challenging lately. Beans are a good compromise for us.

I wanted the taste of stew without much effort so I gathered some small white beans, brown rice, local carrots, an onion, a sprig of rosemary and two small red potatoes. The result was hearty, warm and satisfying. Warm in summer? The trick to stew in the summer is to eat dinner in the bedroom where your husband keeps the air condition at a crisp 62 degrees. It hits the spot and makes me long for my favorite season of the year.

Next week – stay tuned for the one year anniversary of Not My Mother’s Kitchen. And what a year it has been…

Simple Summer Stew

Ingredients

  • 1 can small white beans  
  • 1 medium yellow onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 spring rosemary  
  • 1-2 cloves garlic  
  • 2-3 small red potatoes, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 bag frozen peas
  • 6 carrots, cut into large chunks
  • 2 cups brown rice
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, divided

Directions

Saute garlic and onion in pot (use one that you can transfer to the oven) with a healthy serving of olive oil. Add carrots and red potatoes and simmer for a few minutes. Addpeas and beans and a bit more olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and the sprig of rosemary. Cover pot and simmer for another 5 minutes.

Preheat oven to 425°F. Roast, stirring occasionally, until nearly tender, about 30-40 minutes. Serve stew over brown rice. You can also use quinoa or millet if you prefer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

