Skip to content

Pickles 101

When it comes to food, I like strong flavors – hot, spicy, or sour. As I kid, I can remember eating bowls of olives and vinegary beet salad at my grandmother’s house. Today, I love greek olives, pickled vegetables, and everything lemon. 

In recent years, some of my friends have gotten into the canning/jarring trend and I’m very interested in trying it as well. Unfortunately, I’ve been far too busy and unfocused lately to take a class or even open the canning cookbook I bought months ago. But I did find something right up my alley – a recipe for quick, easy refrigerator pickles.

This weekend I got myself back to the Farmer’s Market in Rittenhouse after a two-week absence and purchased a bunch of veggies, berries, gluten free flatbread, and a pint of kirby cucumbers perfect for pickling.

This recipe is very easy, but it did the trick. Yesterday, we had pickles! Now if you are really interested in learning more about pickling, canning or jarring I suggest you consult some experts (I will do the same!). You can even take classes in Philadelphia with local foodie Marissa McClellan (FoodinJars.com). Check out the following food blogs:

Easy Refrigerator Pickles

  •  8-10 Kirby cucumbers
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1/3 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 Tb salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 5 whole peppercorns
  • Fresh ground pepper
  • 1-2 cloves garlic
  • Option flavors: fresh dill, jalapeno pepper, onions, etc. (I used jalapeno)

You can slice the cucumbers into small pieces or slices if you prefer, but since I used Kirby I kept them whole. Peel garlic clove and dice into small pieces.  In a large mason jar, mix water, salt, sugar, vinegar, pepper and peppercorns. Add your extra ingredients (dill, jalapeno).  Add cucumbers to the jar(s). Refrigerate for two days.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Madelene #

    I am sooo trying that! We love pickles. And I have been thinking the same thing…I really want to learn how to can and make jams etc…

    June 25, 2010

Leave a Reply

