Skip to content

New Twist on a Strawberry Tradition: Sorbet

Variety and change were not popular words in my house growing up. My father in particular loathed these two things. He had two mandates for my brother and me: eat what I tell you is good and don’t grow up. Those were his golden rules. Unfortunately, he handled a lot of the grocery shopping due to my mother’s phobia of food related stores. As you can imagine, there was little room for requests. Want Golden Grahams instead of Sugar Pops (back before they were Corn Pops)? Nope. How about raspberry jam instead of generic grape jelly? Nice try. No. No. No.

When my dad bought something, he bought a lot of it. If he liked, by damn you will too! And you were expected to eat it until it was gone. Case in point – bologna. My brother and I were subjected to bologna sandwiches for years in grade school. I can still staring at that tower of bologna in the refrigerater with tears in my eyes and pain in my gut. I longed for the simple peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

But his obsession did lead to one family favorite – strawberry shortcake. We ate strawberry shortcake for every birthday until I was at least 25 when someone dared to introduce an ice cream cake onto the scene breaking my father’s heart forever. I love strawberries and still miss those strawberry shortcakes.

With strawberry season upon us, I decided to find a new use for the quart of strawberries in our house – Strawberry Sorbet. I was encouraged to make the sorbet when I heard my mother say that she was going to attempt sorbet making. I couldn’t let her beat me to the punch. It would be a disservice to this blog!

The sorbet was a big hit with my husband too. In fact, it disappeared on day two and I never got a second helping!

Strawberry Sorbet

Ingredients 

  • 1 quart ripe strawberry, stemmed and frozen
  • 5 tablespoons sugar (or more depending on how sweet you want it)
  • 1/4 cup water

Directions

Freeze strawberries for 2 hours or until hard. Place strawberries and sugar into a food processor and pulse machine on and off until fruit is broken up. Add water and continue processing until you have a smooth puree. Transfer to a container and freeze for 2 hours, or until firm enough to scoop. Stir every 30 minutes.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fran LaSpada #

    What kind of container did you use? Glass or tupperware.

    I have my new Ninja (like a mini food processor) so I’m going to try this recipe and will let you know if it’s a hit with Dad.

    June 10, 2010
  2. My relatives all the time say that I am killing my time here at net,
    except I know I am getting know-how every day by reading thes good posts.

    January 3, 2014

Leave a Reply

