Skip to content

Poor Man’s Tiramisu

Pudding is one of my favorite desserts. When I was little, I once asked for rice pudding instead of birthday cake. Clearly, I was committed. When Ryan and I first met (at work), we discussed our mutual love of pudding. I should have known then that he was the one, but it took me another year and a half and a candlelight cookie baking session for that to happen.

During a recent visit to DiBruno Brothers, I picked up a package of lady fingers. I had been reading  a  new book, Lunch in Paris, about a writer living in Paris with her boyfriend. She shared a recipe with lady fingers, dried apricots and creme fraiche. Ironically, this made me crave chocolate and lady fingers.

My husband has been running a lot of 5K2, 10Ks, and half marathons lately. I wanted to make some sort of tiramisu but one on the light side. And as he has been doing all of this running, I’ve been doing a lot of sitting – the real reason it needed to be light.

I wanted to do something that didn’t require coffee or espresso since I am off the stuff so I tweaked the recipe below accordingly. I’ve become a huge fan of greek yogurt in the past few months and I use it for sweet and savory options so I substituted the sour cream below with the yogurt.

Now, this is nothing fancy, but it is a nice, quick, easy treat and a reason for us not to go to Rita’s (which is 10 steps outside our door) again when we want something a little bit sweet.

 Poor Man’s Tiramisu

  • 3/4 c. milk
  • 1 pkg. (sm.) instant chocolate pudding (or any flavor of pudding)
  • 1/2 c. sour cream or greek yogurt (I used vanilla greek yogurt)
  • 10-12 ladyfingers, separated
  • Confectioners’ sugar (optional)
  • cocoa powder (optional)

Mix milk and pudding according to package directions. Let stand 5 minutes. Fold in softened sour cream or yogurt. Chill. Spread flat side of half the ladyfinger with filling; top with remaining ladyfinger half. Refrigerate for at least one hour. Sprinkle tops with confectioners’ sugar, cocoa powder or crushed ladyfingers.

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fran LaSpada #

    Oh my does that sound good. I’ll definitely try that! Yummy!!

    March 25, 2010
  2. Danielle Wakely #

    Chris’s favorite dessert…and I am reading this right before heading to the market! Sounds easy, thanks

    March 25, 2010
    • Cheri #

      Dan – wish him a Happy Birthday for me!

      March 25, 2010
  3. Sue #

    Everyone that knows me knows my love for Tiramisu! It is such a rich dessert and too much work for me to make. I think I will try this version and see if it satisfies my craving!

    March 26, 2010
  4. Cheri #

    Sue – Ryan ate it all tonight. He loved it!

    March 26, 2010
  5. SIL-E #

    i can’t wait to try this!! Tiramisu is my most favorite dessert!! but like Sue, it’s just too much work. I think this Poor Man’s Tiramisu just might also be Busy Woman’s Tiramisu :^)

    April 4, 2010

Leave a Reply

