Skip to content

Pour Me Some Gravy!

How many of you ate meatballs on toast with homemade Italian gravy for breakfast on Sunday? Perhaps my brother and I were not the only kids in their grandmother’s kitchen eating this, but I’m pretty sure we belonged to a rare group. I love Italian gravy and I’ll scoop it up with some Italian bread like nobody’s business, but I’ve never had the same love for chicken or turkey gravy. 

Le Creuset Gravy Boat - Must Get for My Kitchen

In fact, I rarely indulge in mashed potatoes with gravy or roast chicken with gravy etc. – even before I went vegetarian – but my dear friend from Seattle asked me to give her some tips on gravy making. I’ve known her since second grade and her family never fails to introduce me to new foods. With a mother from Sweden and a father from Hungary, her family seemed incredibly unique and exotic to me as a child (actually they still do!) and everything at their house is also just more interesting – toast with sliced cheese (but better than any cheese your mom had or any toast you would make yourself), salted Swedish licorice candies, Hungarian Palacsinta (crepes) and even Head cheese, which I politely declined on my last visit. 

Head cheese

So Madelene – this video guide/recipe for homemade gravy is for you. Happy cooking and feel free to mail me a sample………… 

This is an easy-to-follow video on how to make homemade chicken gravy. It provides a step-by-step lesson in basic gravy making. Remember, you can always add ingredients like shallots, garlic, onions, etc. to your gravy depending upon your preferences. 

I may be a vegetarian, but as I watched this clip my mouth watered for a juicy roast chicken with a big ‘ol helping of gravy. And of course, there are wonderful vegetarian and vegan options for gravy as well. Here is one: http://www.theveggietable.com/recipes/gravy.html 

http://foodwishes.blogspot.com/search?q=homemade+gravy 

Homemade Chicken Gravy Recipe (Foodwishes Blog)
                                                                                                                                                     

Ingredients  

  • 1/2 Cup Unsalted Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1 Quart Chicken Stock Or Broth
  • 1/3 Cup Cream
  • Salt And Pepper

 

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Madelene #

    You are the best!!! Thanks for the gravy lesson my dear!!! Can’t wait to try it. (Poor Matt :)).

    January 28, 2010

Leave a Reply

