Skip to content

Reader’s Delight

I’ve been obsessed with this new book The Happiness Project all weekend. So much so that my mind is racing with ideas – How can I be happier? nicer? more organized? a better friend/wife/daughter/sister? more productive with work?

Sadly, my mind is not racing with ideas for this week’s blog posts so I’m putting this in the hands of my readers (in case I have any other than my mom). What food or cooking issue would you like me to address this week? I’m certainly no expert so consider me your personal research assistant for this particular inquiry. Whether it is finding a good recipe for Shepherd’s Pie or Italian gravy with meatballs (yes, I’ll even focus on meat if you ask) or even tips on what tools/equipment you need to build a great kitchen or what knives work best – I’m here for you this week.

Ready. Set. Go.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Madelene #

    I am a frequent reader my dear :).

    Since you brought up gravy…my mom makes the best gravy in the world…not matter what she’s cooking, her gravy is to die for. However, I did not inherit her talent. How can I make a good gravy when I need it?

    Love ya sista!!! 🙂

    January 11, 2010
  2. uncle bill #

    if i could taste pop maguire’s cole slaw once again it would bring a tear to my eye and a smile to the rest of me. love,u.b.

    January 13, 2010
  3. Cheri #

    Uncle Bill – wow that is a challenge. What about his cole slaw did you love? Was there something special in it? I’ll have to get my mon involved in this as well. Good ol Pop maguire

    January 13, 2010
  4. Fran LaSpada #

    Cher – I did have a question that has always bothered me – why salted and unsalted butter.

    some recipes call for unsalted and other salted.

    Besides the obivous – what’s the difference in cooking with salted or unsalted butter.

    January 13, 2010
    • Cheri #

      Mom – I found some research on this topic for you. Hope this helps…

      Butter comes in two forms salted and unsalted. Salt is added to butter for flavor and as a preservative so it will have a longer shelf life. However, salt can overpower the sweet flavor of the butter and can also mask any odors. Salted butter also contains higher water content.

      Some prefer to use unsalted butter because of its taste (fresher and more delicate flavor). Also, the amount of salt added to salted butter varies from manufacturer to manufacturer and it is hard to know how much extra salt to add to your recipe. The rule of thumb is that if you are substituting salted for unsalted butter in a recipe, omit the extra salt in the recipe (i.e. Omit ¼ teaspoon of salt per ½ cup of butter).

      Unsalted butter has a short shelf life because it contains no preservatives. Most butter has an expiry date on it. However, if you buy unsalted butter and do not use it right away, it is best to freeze it. You can freeze butter for around six months if it is well wrapped so that it will not pick up odors. Just make sure you defrost the butter overnight in the refrigerator before using it.

      January 18, 2010

Leave a Reply

