Skip to content

Baked Eggs Over Sweet Potato Hash

There are days I love living in the city. Earlier this week, I had one of those days in spite of the fact that 1) my best friend saw me on the street and thought I was a homeless person in my big puffy coat and hat; 2) a homeless man yelled at me for giving his friend for money than him; and 3) the fire alarm went off twice as we were enjoying the lights and decorations in a rare moment of urban silence.  Luckily, seeing a good movie, spending time with my husband and finishing my Christmas shopping kept me in a good mood.

On days like this, I love to cook. And, the good news, I was finally hungry again. Out with the saltines and popsicles and in with the real food. Ironically, we happened to have a stocked refrigerator before we got sick so I had a lot to choose from, including sweet potatoes that reminded me of a hearty hash I made a while back. This dish is flavorful and filling and a perfect complement to eggs. Since I love baked eggs, I decided to serve my eggs over the sweet potato/sausage (or in our case “faux sausage”) hash with a side salad. Ryan picked up two bunches of mixed greens at the farmers market this weekend that clearly required my attention at this point. This is great as a brunch or dinner dish and is versatile enough for  carnivores and vegetarians.

Okay, time to do more baking. Vegan peanut butter cups, biscotti and toffee on the way as we get ready for our first big snow storm of the year. Stay warm!

   

Baked Eggs Over Sweet Potato Hash

Ingredients 

  •  1 sweet potato, peeled and diced 
  • 2 small potatoes, peeled and diced 
  • 1 tb. olive oil 
  • 1 tb. butter 
  • ½ pound vegetarian sausage (or the real thing!) 
  • 3 scallions 
  • Salt and pepper 
  • 2 large eggs 
  • 1 tb. fresh chives 
  • 1 tb. fresh parsley

Directions

1. Place the diced potatoes in a saucepan and add enough water to cover by 1 inch. Bring to a boil and cook 3 to 4 minutes, until the potatoes are just barely tender; they should still be firm and hold their shape. Drain well and set aside.

2. Heat the butter and 1 tbsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the scallions and cook, stirring occasionally, 4-5 minutes, until light brown.

3. Add the potatoes and cook 6-7 minutes, stirring occasionally, until potatoes are crispy. Add the remaining olive oil and the soy sausage or meat. Season with salt and pepper and cook 1 to 2 minutes more, stirring occasionally.

4. Coat two ramekins with butter or olive oil depending upon your preference and break one egg into each ramekin. Bake in 375 degree oven for approximately 12 minutes. Sprinkle with the chives, parsley and additional salt and pepper, if desired. Remove eggs from ramekin carefully and serve over a healthy serving of the hash. Enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

