Skip to content

Potato Bliss

Tired and stuffed, we arrived back in Philadelphia yesterday after a great visit with the in-laws. While happy to be home, I’m still disappointed by my lackluster contribution to the family Thanksgiving meal – banana cream pie. The baking venture was a failure from the beginning. I couldn’t find the organic chocolate cookies I needed to make my crust (used a pre-made chocolate crust) and my bananas were too ripe. The “pudding” like mixture never reached the right consistency and looked like brown-flecked white soup. Let’s just say it wasn’t my proudest moment. But leave it to my husband to always find the silver lining. He complimented me for taking chances and always trying to make new things. For better or worse, right?

We came home to a ton of mail, but little to no food so I pulled together some broccoli, red potatoes and eggs and ending up making baked eggs and a broccoli/potato salad. There is just something so comforting to me about potatoes. I think my obsession with these starchy carbs began around the age of 10 when I observed my mom making mashed potatoes – from a box. My heart sank as I observed the lifeless white flakes being poured into a pot of boiling water. I remember thinking “this isn’t how Mom-Mom makes her potatoes.” Wisely, I kept this thought to myself. Skippy’s potatoes were the exact opposite of my mother’s –pounds of real potatoes accompanied by a full stick of butter, also known as heaven in a bowl.

This potato salad isn’t nearly as good as Skippy’s either, but it was an appropriate transition from eating starchy foods, salty snacks and round-the-clock sweets for the past six days. Today we go back to “normal.” Next time I make this I will probably add capers for extra flavor and some greek yogurt for thickness.

Red Potato/Broccoli Salad

Ingredients

  • 6 red potatoes
  • 1/2 lb. broccoli, broken into florets
  • 1 shallot
  • 3 tb fresh parsley
  • 2 tb red wine vinegar
  • 3 tb olive oil
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • salt and pepper

Directions

Boil the potatoes until tender. Drain and cut into quarters or thick slices. Toss with the parsley, and salt and pepper. Steam the broccoli until tender, about five to eight minutes. Separately mix together the lemon juice, vinegar and mustard. Add salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the olive oil [a tablespoon at a time]. Drain the broccoli, refresh under cold water, and toss with the potatoes and the dressing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

