Skip to content

Roasted Root Veggies

I am in a cooking/nesting mood this weekend. My husband is away until Sunday so I am planning a taco night for his return, but today I am in the mood for some hearty vegetables. Maybe it is too offset the apple danish I just ravished for breakfast or perhaps I am just excited about making my first batch of root vegetables this fall. Roasted root vegetables are a great side dish or main dish if you are a vegetarian.

Inspired, I headed to the farmer’s market at Rittenhouse Square to see what was available. I picked up a carrot, two parsnips, a large beet, and a sweet potato. I also grabbed a butternut squash, but I am saving that for a risotto recipe I have planned later this week. 

root2

Rosemary and Garlic Roasted Root Vegetables

 Ingredients

  • 1 sweet potato
  • 2 parsnips 
  • 1-2 carrots
  • 1 beet
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 head garlic, broken up into cloves without the skin
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons fresh rosemary needles-chopped

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Wash and chop all vegetables into large bite-sized pieces. Place in a large baking dish with sides. Drizzle with olive oil; mix well to coat each vegetable lightly with oil. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and herbs.  Bake uncovered for 25-35 minutes until vegetables are tender and golden brown, checking every 10 minutes to stir and make sure veggies are not sticking.

root6

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Kim #

    This is my absolute favorite nesting recipe too!! I am making this for Thanksgiving – am adding butternut squash and found a nice daikon – not a fan of radish but adding it anyway to see how it turns out.

    November 22, 2009
    • cherala34 #

      Kim – let me know how that turns out. I just saw the most delicious recipe for a bread pudding with brioche, parsnips and butternut squash. I have to make that after Thanksgiving. It looked so good.

      November 23, 2009

Leave a Reply

