Skip to content

Potage Parmentier

One of my guilty pleasures is a good food memoir. Some of my favorites include A Homemade Life, The Sharper The Knife, the Less you Cry, Trail of Crumbs, Home Cooking, Julie & Julia, Julia Child’s “My Life in France”, and A Pig in Provence.  Now that I am food blogging, I’m trying to convince Ryan that I NEED to buy/read more food memoirs – you know – for “research purposes.” I’ve pretty much gone through the selection at my local library. I’m hot on the trail for The Sweet Life in Paris,  The Gastronomy of Marriage: A Memoir of Food and Love, and I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti.

In the spirit of food blogging, I decided to make a nice pot of Potage Parmentier. Sorry for another soup post, but I thought this one was particularly fitting since it is the dish that inspires Julie Powell (author of “Julie and Julia”) to start her famous, year-long cooking project/blog on “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.” I grabbed some potato, leeks, and a nice multigrain baguette at the Farmer’s Market in Rittenhouse Square yesterday for today’s featured menu item. Ryan’s away, I am restless, and I need a little afternoon project. I love the idea of having the apartment to myself and always think I will relish the solitude, but by the 2nd day I’m usually missing him. My former single self is appalled by the mere notion of this. Don’t get me wrong, I made use of this “me time” by going through my whole closet, trying on outfits, reading my InStyle, watching some Sex and the City reruns and doing as little else as possible.

julia

Julia Child’s Potage Parmentier (or Leek and Potato Soup)

• 4-5 medium potatoes, sliced or diced

• 3-4 large thinly sliced leeks

• 2 quarts (4 cups) of water • kosher salt to taste

• 4 T. softened butter or 4-6 T. whipping cream

After slicing the leeks, soak them in a large bowl of water for a few minutes to remove the dirt and grit. Once you have thoroughly cleaned the leeks, place them in a large pot with the potatoes, water and salt. Bring to a boil and simmer for 45 – 50 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender. **I use the immersion blender to get this soup to a nice thick consistency.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. MIL #

    “Immersion blender”? Initially, being about 99%visual in my ‘senses’, I imagined you stomping on the leeks in the bath tub. But then realized you said ‘immersion’ blender as opposed to ‘submersion’ blender. So what is it anyhow?

    October 5, 2009

Leave a Reply

