Skip to content

Soup Gets a Makeover

As a little girl, I made a lot of soup. I’d walk to the cabinet, grab the can opener, open a chicken rice or vegetable soup from Campbell’s (we collected labels for our parish so most of us were brand loyal in that respect), pour it into a pot and voila! When I began cooking about two years ago, soup represented the holy grail – this laborious, complex creation that could only be accomplished by true cooks. For years, I avoided making soup out of fear.

My first attempt was lentil soup and it turned out quite well.  To be frank, I think I licked the bowl. Ryan did as well – but he’s been known to do that a lot so my act of soup lust was definitely more meaningful. All in all, it was much easier to make than I had anticipated. Since then I’ve made tomato, potato leek, chickpea Mediterranean soup, veggie chili, split pea and white bean soup. Some were more successful than others, but all in all, lentil remains my favorite. I like to serve it with some ground black pepper and garlic toasts with a little olive oil drizzled on top. Ironically, soup is one of my mom’s favorite meals in the whole world – maybe I should invite her up to my kitchen to make a pot of homemade soup this fall. We’ll teach that undomestic goddess how real soup is made.

Writing this is reminding me that I need to order that Le Creuset soup pot I’ve had my eye on for quite some time…pot

Lentil Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 carrot, sliced
  • 2 pieces of celery, sliced
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 cup dry lentils
  • ¼  tsp pepper
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp dried thyme
  • ¼ tsp rosemary
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Garnish with toasted baguette slices (drizzle with olive oil and garlic)

Preparation

In a large pot, sautee the onions and carrot in the olive oil for 3-5 minutes until onions turn clear.

Add the vegetable broth, lentils, pepper, thyme, rosemary bay leaves and salt.

Reduce heat to a simmer. Cover and cook until lentils are soft, about 45 minutes. Use your immersion blender to puree the soup to your liking. Remove bay leaf before serving. Garnish with baguette toast. Makes 4 servings of lentil soup.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Fran LaSpada #

    MMMMM!!! My mouth is watering – that soup sounds so delicious and I accept the invitation to visit your city kitchen and some Lentil soup and garlic toast!

    Love you!

    Mom

    September 17, 2009
  2. cherala34 #

    Thanks Mom – we’ll have to pick up a time and well squeeze in a trip to Cafe Lutecia!

    September 22, 2009

Leave a Reply

