Skip to content

My Love Affair with Beets

My grandmother started me on a love affair with beets when I was pretty young. Her beet salad was delicious. Imagine my surprise 30+ years to discover that beet salad from fresh beets is even better. I started making “real” beet salad about a year ago by  roasting the beets with a little olive oil, salt and herbs de provence and wrapping them in foil is an easy way to get delicious beets for your salad  None of this is new, but to someone who ate canned beets for three decades it was quite a taste discovery.

Ryan and I went to Jim Thorpe this past weekend for some rafting. We love it there – it is very Stars Hollow for any former Gilmore Girls fans out there.  After a terrible meal on Friday night, we decided to go for the gold on Saturday night and went to Flow – a unique restaurant/art gallery with a farm to table culinary focus.

                      flow                          Beet salad

I ordered the Vegetarian Tasting – three courses chosen by the chef. I enjoyed the first two courses outside until the skies opened up and it began to pour buckets outside. The first dish was a beet salad and not just any beet salad. The best of my life! It was a work of art – red beets and white beets, capers, dill, vinagrette. Unfortunately, I don’t have the recipe but I tried to recreate a worthy alternative.

Side Note: Turns out my mom likes the blog and is not at all offended by the title (Ryan feared she would be). She said if I had called it “My Mom is a Total Bitch” she may have been hurt, but turns out she is quite aware that she is not a culinary goddess and owns it. She did appreciate the shout out to the hot dog in a thermos days, which is apparently something my cousin Sue does with her boys’ lunches as well. I asked my mom is this was something that her mother did and she reaffirmed what I already thought – Mom Mom Morrissey didn’t cook much at all nor did she ever offer much in terms of culinary traditions. Stay tuned for a future Q&A with the inspiration of this blog – my mom.

Roasted Beet Salad

4 Beets, Stems removed (red and/or golden)

1 small red onion, diced

2 tablespoons of capers

2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon of olive oil

4 sprigs of dill, snipped

Salt and pepper

1 cup of greens

  • Preheat oven to 400°F. Tear or cut the beet tops from the beets, leaving about an inch of stalk attached. Wash and thoroughly dry the beets.
  • Place beets in a roasting pan or on a flat baking pan or sheet pan. Drizzle with a bit of extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle with Kosher salt. Roast for 30-45 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 20 minutes or so.
  • Slip the skins off the beets by hand with a paring knife. Cut the beets into ½-inch dice and toss in a stainless steel mixing bowl with enough olive oil to coat them. Mix in remainder of ingredients. Serve over greens.
  • Advertisements
    One Comment Post a comment
    1. SIL-E #

      ah, beets, really? more power to you 😉 But geez i love your mom…and since you opted to not go with your blog being titles My Mom is a Bitch, it leaves that option open for my children & their blogs some day. And for the record: i’m totally tryin’ that hot dog in a thermos for my kids’ lunches one of these days. Sheer brilliance. 🙂

      September 2, 2009

    Leave a Reply

