Skip to content

No Impact Woman? No Way

Last night, Ryan and I went to a screening of “No Impact Man” at the Ritz East.  It is the story of Colin Beavan, his wife Michelle (who writes for Business Week) and their daughter Isabella. Colin decides to completely eliminate his personal impact on the environment for the next year. This means: eating vegetarian, buying only local food, and turning off the refrigerator. It also means no elevators, no television, no cars, busses, or airplanes, no toxic cleaning products, no electricity, no material consumption, and no garbage. And yes people, it means NO TOILET PAPER.

As the film began, I started to get nervous. Really nervous. As many of you know, I live with a Colin type. We have a compost (“worm farm”), we recycle, we buy local food, etc. (Note: These are all good things that I recommend we all do for the most part). But I know Ryan and I was a little concerned that he was going to start taking notes during the film. Wean wife off of shopping. Check. Cut wife’s caffeine habit. Check. Eliminate wife’s use of all cosmetics and toiletries. Check.  And on and on.

Following the film, a local green organization hosted a discussion about the documentary and asked all of us – “Would you really change anything you are doing after seeing this film?” I thought two things – I would complain less about the worm farm and I would not just buy more local food, but actually buy and cook more in season.

So to get started I consulted SustainableTable.org to see what was in season for early September in Pennsylvania. My goal will be to cook in season as much as possible throughout the Fall. I’ll begin posting recipes and pics when I get started – in between shopping, drinking coffee and taking the elevator.

  • Broccoli
  • Beets
  • Brussels Sprouts
  • Cabbage
  • Cantaloupe
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Cucumbers
  • Eggplant
  • Lettuce
  • Lima Beans
  • Peppers
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin
  • Snap Beans
  • Spinach
  • Summer squash
  • Sweet Corn
  • Tomatoes
  • Turnips
  • Watermelon
  • Winter Squash

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jeanie #

    Cheri! I am laughing so hard and reading out loud to vince your food blogs. They are great! As you and I seem to have many things in common, food in our house to this day plays the most important role. My family still asks each other “what are you having for dinner tonight” or “what did you have for dinner last night” In fact, our friends to this day always discuss the “wechsler’s fascination with food” thoughout our entire life. Like your home, total comfort stuff, nothing fancy (excepts pigs feet once a month which only my mom and I ate) to this day, when I know vince will not be home, I will cook myself pigs feet as I am not allowed to cook them in the house when he is home.

    Vince is however totally into your Mom’s hot dog thermos trick. I would not be surprised if one day I see him walk out of the house with a newly purchased thermos!

    Keep up the great work and thanks so much for bringing back memories to me!

    September 1, 2009
  2. cherala34 #

    Jeanie – I am laughing at YOUR comment. Pigs feet! I think my grandmother (the one who did cook) liked them – I’ll have to look into that. My mother totally defends that hot dog trick and of course I can only remember all of the other kids making fun of me for it. I am just trying to picture you cooking pigs feet on the sly…Maybe we should post the recipe:)

    September 1, 2009

Leave a Reply

