Skip to content

Hot Summer in the City

It has been unbearably humid in Philadelphia this week so with the exception of Friday’s plum tart (which received excellent reviews yesterday!) I have not felt much like cooking. I decided to go light with the Sunday fare and made a corn salad with some of the remaining ears we had on hand.

more 051

This is a super simple, yet tasty, summer salad. I simply boiled three ears of corn, cooled them, removed the corn from each cob, added heirloom tomatoes, red onion, fresh basil, salt, pepper, olive oil and a dash of vinegar. I have some feta as well.

more 061

Yesterday, my husband bought me a watermelon. You must understand – in our house this is the equivalent of a bouquet of flowers (although I do enjoy those rare occasions too). I was thrilled.

I can’t decide whether or not to make a watermelon feta salad. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this combination, but I am a watermelon purist. I like watermelon as is and I don’t like anything that is watermelon flavored – jolly rangers, water ice, popsicles, etc. – nothing. But I could eat a whole watermelon in one day.  Just in case I decided to consult my favorite food blog in the world – Smitten Kitchen – for a recipe. This is adapted from Bon Appetit magazine.

Watermelon and Feta Salad with Chopped Vegetables
Adapted from Bon Appetit

I’m so in love with the new Bon Appetit, I am forgiving the fact that they used the cringe-worthy word “veggies” in their initial title.

Serves at least four

1 pound Campari or plum tomatoes, diced, drained
1 1/2 cups diced seeded watermelon
1 large green bell pepper, seeded, cut into 1/3-inch cubes
1/2 large English hothouse cucumber, seeded, cut into 1/3-inch cubes
1/2 cup very thinly sliced radishes
3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
10 ounces feta cheese, cut into small cubes (about 2 1/2 cups),
2 divided green onions, chopped, divided
1/4 cup thinly sliced fresh mint leaves, divided
1/2 cup plain Greek-style yogurt
1 teaspoon dried oregano

Toss first five ingredients and two tablespoons oil in large bowl. Add half each of cheese, green onions, and mint. Mix remaining cheese, green onions, mint, and oil in processor; add yogurt and oregano. Process just to blend (do not over-mix or dressing will get thin). Season dressing with salt and pepper; mix into salad.

**Note: We ended up going out for dinner and frozen yogurt. But the corn salad was great for lunch the next day.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. MIL #

    I know where you can get genuine “organic”, homegrown watermelon right in the side yard of a GA grower- just a short jaunt to Martinez, GA. Shopping trip would also include a very fun visit with 6 new relatives (by marriage), wait make that 8 new relatives if you go to GA for Labor Day weekend : ))
    Just DO It!!
    GG

    August 24, 2009

Leave a Reply

