Skip to content

TV Dinners Circa 2009

We ate a lot of TV dinners growing up. Specifically, Swanson’s fried chicken with mashed potatoes, and that little cobbler for dessert. I did love that damn cobbler.

In our house, we have a couple of “go to” TV dinners as well. Quite often it is a frittata and today I felt like a frittata. I was trapped at the office and had to eat my emergency packet of oatmeal for lunch. So I had this frittata on my mind all day. I had some local, brown eggs, fresh spinach from the farmer’s market, and some feta cheese.

Cheri's Pics 103

Cheri's Pics 107

I stumbled across a farmer’s market in the train station on the way home from work tonight and picked up a couple of heirloom tomatoes and a few sweet onions as well so I decided to serve the frittata with some corn on the cob and a small heirloom tomato salad with fresh basil, some salt and a few drizzles of olive oil.

I served our “tv dinner” picnic style in the bedroom where we watched the storm and a little Family Guy. (p.s. – this is the only room that has air conditioning!).

As for the sweet onions, I am saving those for my first tart. Recently, I mentioned my fear of the $400 mixer that mocks me from the pantry on fairly regular basis. Well, I took a step – a bold step! I RSVP’d to my friend Kate’s birthday picnic on Saturday and told her I was making (as in “from scratch”) a plum tart. Given that I consider making dough the cooking equivalent to childbirth, I figured I’d make more than one batch and do a savory tart – onion and swiss – for Ryan and me. I’ll provide photo proof of this miraculous event.

Okay, time to sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

