Skip to content

Sunday Night Dinner

I typically try to make a more thoughtful dinner on Sunday nights and tonight is no ordinary Sunday. It is Mad Menu Sunday. My husband Ryan and I have very little in common when it comes to television, but Mad Men is the grand exception. It makes us damn happy. It is that simple. So in honor of this occassion I wanted to make something special. Earlier today I was thinking about what “special” meant in our house growing up and that was usually chicken, white rice and the infamous can of mushroom soup. I am quite sure there were no other ingredients. In the spirit of nostalgia TV, I decided to do a new take on this.

Since we are vegetarians, I’d need to replace the chicken with seitan. I happened to find a new type of seitan at Whole Foods today – chicken style seitan. The texture and consistency turned out to be much better than the standard seitan I’ve been using. I decided to go with a Seitan Marsala. Ryan and I went to a local winery and farmstand yesterday and I had some fresh local mushrooms from Kennett Square on hand as well as fresh basil.  I made a marsala sauce from some sherry wine, vegetable broth, soy creamer and raw sugar. Rather than rice, I decided to serve with some smashed red potatoes from the farm.

Cheri's Pics 093

“Mad Men” Marsala
 
– 1 package of seitan (preferably “chicken style”)
– 1/2 cup flour
– 1 tsp oregano
– 1 tsp basil (I used fresh)
– 2 tbsp olive oil
– 1 tbsp butter
– 2 portabella mushrooms, quartered
– 3/4 cup marsala or sherry
– 3/4 cup vegetable stock
– 2 tbsp soy creamer
– 1 tbsp sugar
– salt and pepper to taste
– dash of herbs de provence
– peas (optional)

1. Combine flour, oregano, and basil. Drain setain and set aside.

2. Heat oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Add margarine, then saute seitan for 3-4 mins per side, until golden and crispy. Remove from pan.

3. Add mushrooms and fry until they begin to release their water. Add marsala and cook until reduced my half.
4. Add brothand cook for 5 minutes. Add in soy creamer and sugar and stir.
5. Return seitan to mushroom/marsala mixture and simmer for 5 minutes. 
6. Serve over peas.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           Smashed Red Potatoes
 
Real mashed potatoes never made an appearance in my mom’s kitchen. But over the years they continue to find their way into mine especially when I crave comfort and carbs. I thought this would be a nice side dish for the marsala. My grandmother used to make her mashed potatoes from scratch all the time but always added one entire stick of butter. Damn. Those were some good potatoes. I’m opting for a much healthier version here.      
                                                            
– 3 medium sized red potatoes, quartered
– 1/4 soy creamer
– 1/4 cup non-fat greek yogurt
– rosemary
– salt (I’ve been using some I bought in Paris on my honeymoon and don’t know what I’ll do when it is gone!)
Simply boil the red potatoes until soft and tender. Mix soy creamer and yogurt into drained pot of potatoes. Add rosemary and salt to taste. You can also add garlic to these if you have some. I didn’t peel the potatoes – just did a hearty smash and left the skin on.  Also a pretty healthy version of mashed potatoes without sacrificing the taste.
One Comment Post a comment
  1. MIL #

    Yum – I LOVE red potatoes. I’m not sure if they actually taste better than conventional brown colored (Idaho type) potatoes or if its just because they are RED and I want everything in my kitchen to BE red!!!! : )

    August 24, 2009

Leave a Reply

